12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tore this out of a magazine several years ago & somewhere along the way managed to lose it. Only difference is I use corn tortillas. It's a quick & easy dish that tastes great. Thanks for posting it Charlene, now I can quit digging for it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzybob April 19, 2004

This was very good! This tasted like another dish I make, but this was soooo much easier!! I only used about 3 tortilla's as they were pretty big and I used ground turkey. Next time I might add some corn and/or black olives to sneak a veggie in!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MackinacBride March 30, 2004

This is a really easy and tasty recipe I originally got from the Campbell's soup website. It's a hit with the whole family! The only changes I usually make is using whole wheat tortillas, and I puree the picante sauce because I don't like the tomatoes and onions to be "chunky". All in all, a family favorite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anotherjenny March 25, 2004

While you know it has to be good when your picky DD gave me her blessing to make this one again!! So easy to make and I always have these ingredients on hand. I used a round two quart baking dish so I baked at 425 degrees for 10 minutes then the last 20 at 400 degrees. The center was a bit cooler ,but still warm, so next time I'll leave in an extra 5 minutes or so. I did use a some no stick spray in the baking dish. Thanks for a great recipe Charlene!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 13, 2003

This dish is great if you're feeding a family. For just me & DH making tacos or burritos is more simple. I added taco seasoning, 1/2 onion, used rotel instead of salsa & used fritos instead of tortillas. It's a good meal & there are so many different things you could do with this (add corn & black beans, serve over lettuce, add sour cream, spice it up, etc...)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Sukki January 02, 2014

We enjoyed this! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Junkie January 04, 2008

Another family favorite here, so easy and so delish! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meltedcountry January 18, 2006

Most at my house liked it. But I did use some of the suggestions of other reviewers. I added green chili's, taco seasoning (instead of chili powder), onions, corn. Next time I may spice it up more. Hubby & 2 kids liked it but me and 1 kid did not really love it. Mabye I'll try corn tortillas next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookQueen May 05, 2005

I got this recipe from Campbells and have been making it for years. It is very easy and quite tasty. A good recipe for those days when you need a meal but dont want to spend a lot of time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymity February 21, 2005

Where do I begin? I found this recipe by doing a search for “condensed tomato soup” as an ingredient (I had bought quite a few cans due to a grocery-store special, and was looking for ways to get rid of them…). My husband loves spicy foods, typically Mexican, so I thought I’d give this a try. I did do quite a few modifications. The original recipe looked a bit bland (confirmed so by one of the other reviewers). So I spiced it up a bit. First, during the browning of the beef (Step 1), I added ½ cup chopped onion, 1 can (drained) of black beans, and 1 small can (drained and chopped) green chilies (there were about 3 whole chilies). Of course, I then drained the beef mixture, to get rid of the excess fat. Then, during Step 2, I did it a bit differently. I mixed together the ½ cup of milk and the condensed soup. Then, I added some Chile Powder and a little bit of hot sauce (you should do this to taste, depending how spicy you like it) to the soup/milk mixture. I added that to the beef mixture. Then, I followed the recipe as is (adding the salsa, tortillas, ½ the cheese, etc). This was a wonderful dish. My hubby confirmed by going back for seconds! I rated this recipe only 4 stars (as opposed to 5 stars) because I did have to think up the modifications.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Libra10574 December 02, 2004
Beef Taco Bake