Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Quick-and-easy / Colorful Wild Rice Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Colorful Wild Rice Salad

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2003

      The red wine vinegar and wild rice was a great taste combination. I did not know if you meant 1-cup dry or cooked wild rice. So I cooked a 4-ounce box of rice, which after being cooked was 1 1/2 cups. I put everything together the night before but waited until it was time to serve to add the nuts. The raisins plumped up nicely since I made it the night before. Next time I want to make this using the dried cherries. Thank you Ducky, I will be taking this too many family gathering to come!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      My oh my oh my!! Ducky, thank you so much for suggesting this recipe for the funeral I was in charge of food for. I made a double recipe of this and it was the MOST popular dish by farrrr... it went so fast people were complaining to me that they didn't get any and had heard such great things about it! This was delicious to say the least. I will be making this over and over and over... I have already promised several people I would bring this to their homes the next time I come over. I cannot thank you enough for this awesome recipe, and for being kind enough to suggest it in response to my funeral recipe plea. This would not have been more perfect! Dianne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Fresh & colorful, I added celery & yellow pepper. I made it the night before for a potluck. Many, many compliments on this salad. Thank you for sharing-Delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      Love it. Used an "Exotic Rice Blend" with a combination of wild and red rice. Delicious and so simple.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      This was delicious! The grocery did not have wild rice so I used Forbidden Rice which is kind of purple - that made it really colorful!!! The texture and taste were similar so all was fine. Everyone asked for your recipe and I was happy to share it. This would be great for my gluten free friends instead of pasta salad - or a potluck. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Great salad. All 10 guests asked for the recipe. We all enjoyed this very much. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      We love this! Don't be put off by the time estimate. It doesn't have to take this long. If I want to speed it up a bit I spread the cooked rice out in a pan so it will cool faster. And it really doesn't hurt anything if it's not totally cool before mixing, though you do want to chill it before you eat it (it's better after it sits a bit, anyway). I also use pre-shredded carrots and packaged slivered almonds, which makes the prep really simple and quick. I'm thinking about adding cooked lentils sometime; I think the flavor would go nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      What a beautiful salad! I have made it twice now to rave reviews. The first time it accompanied a Minnesota dinner of fresh caught Walleye and fresh picked Morel mushrooms. I added a stalk of diced celery both times and the second time also added some diced yellow pepper. I used dried cranberries for the fruit and a mix of walnuts and almonds for the nuts. The first time I used the honey in the dressing and the second time I left it out and didn't notice a difference. The salad was easy to make, very pretty to look at and the flavors went well together with no one thing over powering the others. I was afraid the nuts would get soggy with sitting but they didn't. Will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      Terrific! As usual, I wasn't terribly impressed when I first tasted it (right after I'd made it). I checked it again just now, several hours after it has been refrigerated, and it's wonderful -- the flavors have blended beautifully. I made it exactly as written, using a half cup of dried cranberries and a half cup of raisins. The only change was to use cashews, just 'cause that's what was on hand. This is a lovely autumn side dish, and I'll definitely make it again. Thanks for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This is a truly outstanding salad/side dish; so colorful (using dried cranberries) and texturally interesting, not to mention addictively delicious. Only change I will make next time is to use 6T each of the oil and vinegar. I'd prefer the rice a bit more moist.Along with blackeye peas this made a great New Year's Day prosperity guarantee and I'm looking forward to enjoying it in the heat of summer as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Fabulous salad. Everyone wants your recipe. I didn't change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      Loved this recipe! I love salads with grains or beans as a base, and this was right up there with the best of them. I plumped the cherries in warm water as the rice cooled, used pecans for the nuts, and made the recipe exactly as specified. Thanks so much for posting! Yummmy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      Made this last night for a potluck, and it turned out great! I doubled the recipe for a larger crowd and used dried cherries and almonds in place of the nuts. It was a crowd-pleasing hit and will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      What a great recipe. I was looking for something with wild rice and veggies and decided to try this. I'm so glad I did. So tasty! It would definitely lend itself to more veggies is you want, or you could serve it on a bed of greens. Love the texture of the wild rice and the dressing is perfect. Thanks for posting, I'm adding it to my best of 2013 cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      This was terrible. I served it at a Labor day party and no one liked it.
      I made it just as the recipe stated. I'm shocked that it has so many good ratings.
      Maybe it is a good recipe IF you like wild rice salad-- and none of my guests did?
      Not sure-- I am puzzled, but can only say Yuck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

    • on May 14, 2007

      Excellent!!! I took it to a pitch in dinner and everyone raved about it. Easy to make, very elegant. Will become a regular for our family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      This was very good. To save on time, I used those new Uncle Ben's "rice in a pouch" side dishes. I used crasins, and decided to use raspberry vinegar instead of red wine. This is a very healthy, good-carb side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      This salad is wonderful! I made it exactly as written and enjoyed it immensely as a side dish. It was colorful and added to the variety of salads and side dishes prepared for our New Years get-together. Everyone was asking about it and I have several requests for the recipe. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2004

      Delicious!!!!!. I tried it before having it for a dinner party that I will have in a couple of weeks. It will be on my salad table for sure. It will be nice to prepare the day before. I can't wait to serve it. Thank-you!!!! Dottie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Colorful Wild Rice Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.7
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    50%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 172.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites