12 Reviews

Just loved everything about this great sandwich! Fresh taste, great texture, loved the dressing. The sprouts at my grocer looked a little puny so I skipped those and just added another layer of lettuce. I don't care for raw onion so left that out. Served on homemade bread and really enjoyed - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2013 event, recommended by AZPARZYCH

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof March 04, 2014

Made this for a nice healthy lunch and it was excellent. I made it on sheep herder bread with sprouts and no onions. I ate 1/2 as is and put a little tuna salad on the other 1/2; both ways were great. Will be making this again. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH January 11, 2013

Great idea, thanx! Went a healthier route using Organic Sprouted Bread, 1 slice Provolone, NO Mayo or Mustard and NO Red Onion. We chose Alfalfa Sprouts AND Romaine Lettuce and English Cucumber as well. Kale or Spinach w/b great w/this as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tallie in Pacific NW August 11, 2011

I toasted my bread, left off the tomato and bean sprouts (we don't like them) and added a sprinkle of dill and oregano to the mayo/mustard. This was a yummy (and light) dinner last night with some baked chips! I did add some turkey to DH's per his request. I had mine straight veggie though and I really look forward to having this in the summertime! Thanks for posting --this will definitely become a staple sandwhich in our household! [Made for Holiday Tag February 2010]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ February 04, 2010

Gourmet veggie sandwich! I absolutely loved it! I used fresh sun dried tomato bread and less dressing than called for. Since I also prefer alfalfa sprouts, used them too. Planning on going home today at lunch and making this one again - sooo good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI July 17, 2009

it was good but i toasted the bread

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOANN-N-TRACY June 26, 2009

Get out of the way of a woman on a mission...as I can see you are by your story! Everyone gave this 10 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 30, 2009

Well I selected this recipe for DH, and he LOVED it. He could be a vegetarian if he wanted, and this sandwich made him very happy. I used alfalfa sprouts too! A keeper for those hot summer night light dinners! Thanks NorthwestGal! Made for PRMR April 2009!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative April 16, 2009

YUMMY brunch sandwich! I scaled this back just for one and used ciabatta and a slice of Swiss cheese (it's what I had on hand) and added some freshly ground black pepper and sea salt on the tomato and cucumber layers and a few drops of lemon juice on the avocado layer. Totally delicious! :) I also prefer alfalfa sprouts, so that's what I used. I'll certainly be making this again, NorthwestGal. Thank you so much for sharing this yummy sandwich recipe. I followed Andi's suggestion and let it sit for 10 minutes: not easy! But I'm sure it made it just that bit more delicious, if only because the waiting made me hungrier! ;) Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder April 14, 2009

This was just excellent. The combination was perfect. I also toasted my bread before adding the layers. Used just a little salt and pepper and left out the cucumber, but other than that made as written. Thanks for sharing. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ March 28, 2009
Seaside Garden Sandwich