Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Quick-and-easy / Wilted Lettuce Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Wilted Lettuce Salad

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2003

      I lost my recipe for wilted lettuce, and found a new one here. This one includes a hard boiled egg, which my husband loved, good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      An interesting concept of hot salad dressing. It was wonderfully delicious, yet so easy to prepare. I don't like the taste of raw onion, therefore I marinated the sliced onion in the vinegar mixture for a couple minutes. Removed the onion before boiling the mixture. I also used olive oil instead of bacon drippings. I sure will make this again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2003

      I prepared this according to the directions. It was easy, but a little too salty for my taste. Without the added salt, I think this would be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      Oh My Oh My , this was so good, We loved this delicious salad. It brought back so may memories, My Mom use to make this all the time when she had fresh lettuce in the garden,. I will be making this a lot. Thank you soooo much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      This recipe is excellent. Just the right amount of sweet and sour for our taste buds. Thanks for creating memories of fresh lettuce from the garden in the springtime. I used pre-cooked bacon to reduce the bad fat, and used olive oil to increase the fat content. It was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      Wow, this was really good. I loved how the bacon drippings made the salad. So good. I will continue to make this salad, my kids loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      Wow! I have a ton of fresh lettuce in the garden to use for this. Love the dressing! Next time hopefully I'll have fresh onions and tomatoes to add. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      The BEST wilted lettuce salad ever. I doubled the dressing except the bacon grease, left the same. and added more black pepper. I have made many times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      This is just so good and so simple to make. The only change I made because of personal preference was I used rice vinegar and splenda to cut some of the calories. Just wonderful. Was the hit of our Valentine Dinner. Thanks. Made for the I Recommend Tag Game :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      This was super easy and yummy! I omitted the onion and egg. My husband and son were skeptical at first when they smelled the vinegar but devoured it. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      We have had a mix of lettuce greens in the garden and have enjoyed this several times. It reminded me of how we fixed leaf lettuce when I was a little girl. I did not put in the egg and used green onions from the garden. My husband had not ever had this and he loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      I love you! lol The memories this recipe gave me almost brought me to tears. I do think next time I will double the bacon, dripping, vinegar, sugar and seasonings but it was just like my mom made for us as kids. I made http://www.recipezaar.com/Chicken-Meatloaf-19931 and mashed taters and my meal was the best. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Great recipe, we've made it a lot. The only change I made was I cut the sugar in half because it was way to sweet for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      YUMMY!!! This was a great change of pace salad. I made a single serving and following some tips from other reviews, changed it up a little. I made the low sodium bacon in the microwave on paper towels to decrease grease. I used Splenda instead of sugar and Olive OIl instead of bacon dripping, crumbling up 1/2 tsp of bacon crumbs in the dressing. I used leaf lettuce and baby spinach as well. This is a keeper! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      Very good salad. I had been craving leaf lettuce and thought this would be a great mix. I changed it just a bit. Instead of using fresh bacon, I used fresh bacon bits and brown sugar for the sugar. Since there would be no bacon fat, I put just a touch of olive oil in it and a few bacon bits to the dressing before heating. I topped the salad with chives, more bacon bits and hard-boiled egg. Yum - we liked it so much we're having it again tonight. I think I've found my new favorite salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      YUMMY! I haven't had this for years and started thinking about it. This is one I will be making again this summer! Made as written except I skipped the egg. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      This really is a serve-immediately salad. I tried to use it for a picnic - NOT a good idea: the vinegar basically digests the lettuce so it looks terrible. But I ignored the looks and took a bite: YUM! The dressing is totally amazing, will defninitely use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      This salad is very similar to a Hot Spinach salad that I make so I knew I would like this one.. I did cut back on the bacon grease. The amounts of vinegar to sugar is just right, it makes a tangy tasty dressing. I the dressing sizzle in the pan with the bacon grease and then poured it over a cold salad. A very tasty do again salad - Thanks Michelle for asking for the photo - it was very enjoyable

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2005

      Used this as a base and made a few changes. I used baby spinach instead of lettuce, white vinegar, and had to triple the sugar. YUM! DH said it was better than he thought it would be. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      I made this (at my brother's request) for a family get-together and everyone LOVED it. I used a combination of green and red leaf lettuce. There were 6 of us so I doubled the recipe and it was all eaten up. Wonderful recipe Michelle, I'll surely be making this again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Wilted Lettuce Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 110.9
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    41%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 52.0 mg
    17%
    Sodium 705.2 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites